Beta-Carotene Cake

Standard

grated carrots and potato I’m a vegetarian/wannabe vegan, I always get asked if I take vitamin supplements. I don’t, and I never have in over a decade of eating this way. I suppose I could pop a couple pills every morning, but if you can get all the vitamins you need in CAKE, why would you want to get them from a manufactured capsule?

This cake could otherwise be known as carrot cake with sweet potatoes, but beta-carotene just sounds so much better. Don’t you agree? Beta Carotene is found in many of the red, yellow, and orange fruits and vegetables we eat. It is an important source of vitamin A, and can help improve your eye-sight, keep your skin from sunburn, and help prevent cancer. IN A CAKE!

cake 2

Many of the recipes I looked at before narrowing down the most basic ingredients, which I’ve decided is the best (read: cheapest) way to cook, call for buttermilk. I don’t have buttermilk, and don’t really want buy it since I never seem to make it through dairy before it spoils. (Though for reference, if you ever really need buttermilk just mix regular milk with a bit of lemon juice until it gets thick). But when I went to the grocery store earlier in the night, I did buy kefir. I’d never tried Kefir before, and didn’t really know what it even was, but I had heard that it’s healthy, so I bought it.

Kefir tastes just like greek yogurt, but is much healthier than your typical Chiobani. It’s full of probiotic glory that will keep you and your digestive system healthy. And, it’s even good for Jews! Most of lactose found in kefir is consumed by the bacteria, so it won’t effect your stomach the way milk or yogurt will. It has tons of vitamin B, so really this could be a A-B-Beta-Carotene cake.

I admit, I was finally inspired to make this cake after a year of thinking about it because I didn’t go to the gym tonight. It takes work, but only if you don’t buy shredded carrots in advance. If you do, then you have no excuse not to spend the next half hour making this–it’s for your health after all!
Of course, the best part of carrot cake is the frosting, which I didn’t make tonight. Maybe there is the future potential for a tart kefir frosting. (Can there even really be a secret ingredient in cream cheese frosting? I’d almost prefer not to mess with Man’s finest creations.) So feel free to use traditional frosting, or a vegan recipe, or leave it without. I’m sure it’s delicious just the same.

So go ahead, make this cake. Relish in it’s probiotic richness and vitamin deliciousness.

Beta Carotene Cake

cake 3

2 cups whole wheat flour
1/4 cup ground flax seed
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 medium sweet potato, shredded with a grater
2 medium carrots, shredded with a grater
6 tablespoons butter (it’s best if it’s room temperature)
2 eggs
1 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup kefir

1) preheat oven to 325. Whisk the dry ingredients (flour, flax, baking powder, cinnamon

, salt) together in a bowl. If you have a sifter, use it here–it will make your cake even better.

2) Get ready to be sore. Grate the sweet potato and carrots into a bowl. I supposed if you have a food

processor, you could probably do it in there–then you might have to go to the gym. You want about 2 cups total. Set this aside.

3) In another bowl, combine the sugar (brown and white), and butter. Mix with a standing mixer or hand mixer adding in one egg at a time. Add in the vanilla. Mix until it looks right.

4) Alternate adding the dry ingredients and the kefir, and continue to mix until everything is blended. Then fold in the carrots and sweet potato.

5) Bake for 30-35 minutes. I baked mine in 8” round pans, but you could use a 9×13 pan too. Just adjust baking time and temperature accordingly.


cake 4
Cool, frost, and enjoy. You really have no reason not to. And next time someones asks you why you don’t take vitamins, tell them it’s because you’re too busy eating cake.

 

About lizhahaklai

Hi! When I took an aptitude test in high school, the tests results said that she was destined to be a farmer or a rabbi. At first I was heartbroken over her prospected proletariat horizon, thinking that I had much greater aspirations than Mud and M’farshim. But she soon realized that the test knew what I hadn’t yet discovered; there is hardly a more spiritual experience than working in nature. I began exploring first with my own family’s garden, and continued on a WWOOFing adventure across Israel. Now, I am more passionate than ever about food and healthy living! I hope that this blog will help us learn together how to live happier and healthier!

Leave a Reply

