Pizza Pizzaz

Standard

College is over, and my roommates and I had been celebrating by eating and drinking everything was left in eyesight. Fun as it was, in my few short weeks at home, I wanted to be far away from beer and cheesy bread. I admit, I didn’t come up with this recipe on my own–but I saw it and made it, and how many people attest to that!?

I made this recipe for my family, which if you remember from my first post, is five members with five different eating habits. One sister won’t eat non-Mozzarella cheese, one loves feta cheese. I like tomatoes, but my mom doesn’t. And of course, there is the ‘dad test’. My dad will eat just about anything, as long as it’s American food. That’s why this pizza-in-disguise is great, it satisfies my entire family’s quirky eating habits, even my dad’s.

The process is super simple, and relatively fast. It tastes great, and just like regular pizza, you can make it the way you love it. With sauce or without, spinach and tomatoes, onions and peppers, mushroom and olives–whatever satisfies your soul. The best part is, you don’t have to feel guilty about having seconds or even thirds because this pizza is super healthy, my family even went out for ice cream after!  Plus, it has none of the carbs or shady ingredients that you might not know about in take-out pizza. Don’t let this recipe be one you read and never try, it’s totally worth it!

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

1 head of cauliflower

pizza sauce

1 egg (optional)

cheese of your choice

veg of your choice

olive oil, salt, basil/oregano/thyme

1. Preheat oven to 450.

Cut cauliflower into chunks and put in the food processor. Blend until fine. Cauliflower has a lot of water in it, so it will stick together and not have the grainy texture like it looks like it should have.

2. Put grated cauliflower into the microwave for 8 minutes. No need to add water, since it’s already in the contained by the veg.

3. Mix the cooked cauliflower with 1 cup of Mozzarella cheese and an egg. I’m not sure you need the egg, since the melted cheese acts like a binder as well. If you don’t use the egg, let me know how it goes! Add in spices to the mixture–flavored crusts are very in!

Put this into the oven for 15-20 minutes.

4. In the meantime, saute some vegetables in a pan. I did spinach and tomato on half, and red onion and yellow pepper on the other. There’s no recipe here, just use your favorite pizza toppings.

5. Bring the baked crust out of the oven, spoon sauce on top. Sprinkle your vegetables evenly across the top, and then bring on the cheese. I made three rows; mozzarella, feta, and goat cheese. But you can obviously use none, one, or all of these. Then stick it bake in the oven for a few minutes until the cheese melts.

You can see from the pictures that each half of the pizza had all three kinds of cheese. If I remember anything about permutations that means there were really 6 different combinations–I wanted to try them all! I liked the onion, pepper, and goat cheese (which I seasoned with cinnamon–another secret ingredient!) and the spinach, tomato and feta combo’s the best. Try it your own way, and have as much of this guilt free pizza as you’d like! 

About lizhahaklai

Hi! When I took an aptitude test in high school, the tests results said that she was destined to be a farmer or a rabbi. At first I was heartbroken over her prospected proletariat horizon, thinking that I had much greater aspirations than Mud and M’farshim. But she soon realized that the test knew what I hadn’t yet discovered; there is hardly a more spiritual experience than working in nature. I began exploring first with my own family’s garden, and continued on a WWOOFing adventure across Israel. Now, I am more passionate than ever about food and healthy living! I hope that this blog will help us learn together how to live happier and healthier!

Leave a Reply

