IT’S THE little THINGS

Standard

Sorry about the delay in posting– finals, graduating, looking for apartments, and moving, has this way of interrupting my blog time!

These are two recipes that I did not create on my own. In fact, they are just every day foods that you’ve probably eaten them in the last 24 hours–especially if you live in our house where 2 dozen eggs don’t last a week. The secret for these recipes in is the presentation, not the ingredients.  Follow these recipes and your friends will be amazed at how easy

it is to make a tasteful and tasty meal.  These recipes remind me like tea partys, and  the end of Giada De Laurentiis show, and ‘pinterest’. Who wouldn’t want to have more of that in their life? Simple, elegant, and easy.

Eggplant Singles

A good friend of mine LOVES eggplant parmesan. The heavier the cheese, the better. But I  usually find it a little to heavy for my taste buds. So when he came to visit, I came up with a way to lighten up the recipe and voila, ‘eggplant singles’ were born.

A layer of roasted eggplant, a spoonful of tomato sauce, topped with a layer of roasted onion and roasted tomato, and covered in cheese. It couldn’t be easier, and it’s super light. The vegetables don’t get lost in the cheese and sauce, but it still has the same ingredients as the regular recipe.

Of course, you could also add spinach, basil, or anything else. You could also bread the eggplants first, before putting on the rest of the ingredients. I think this would be a nice touch, but I made this recipe on Pesach so it was a no-go on the breading. Make it your own, and let me know how it goes!The process is simple. Slice eggplants into quarter to half inch rounds, put a light layer of olive oil, salt and pepper on both sides and roast for about 30 minutes on 375, depending on your oven. Do the same with the onions and tomatoes. Then assemble: eggplant, spoonful of tomato sauce, onion, tomato, cheese.

Individual In-frittatas 

Yesterday, I made these for one of my roommates and myself to share in an almost-done-with-school celebration. If you can make an omelet (actually, even if you can’t) you can make these. They are super easy and super adorable. If you are trying to impress someone, make these for a romantic brunch–just make sure to call them  by their proper name , “in-frittatas”! {Sorry, Tal. ;-)}

First, preheat the oven to 350. There is nothing more annoying than making a whole recipe, being ready to put it in the oven and then realizing you never turned the oven on.

Then, pick your favorite vegetables and lightly saute them in a pan. Don’t cook them all the way through because they will continue cooking in the oven.  In the meantime crack 8 eggs into a bowl and add milk. (For 8 eggs, I count 1-2-3 while the milk is pouring. Do more or less depending on your tastes). Add a teaspoon of flour, and whisk together.

Spray or grease a muffin tin, and spoon the veggies into the separate cups (8 eggs makes exactly enough for 12 servings). I found that a tablespoon of vegetables is a good measurement. Then pour in the egg mixture until just below the rim of the cup. Add cheese and herbs, and pop them into the oven for about 18 minutes. Light, delicious, and nutritious.

About lizhahaklai

Hi! When I took an aptitude test in high school, the tests results said that she was destined to be a farmer or a rabbi. At first I was heartbroken over her prospected proletariat horizon, thinking that I had much greater aspirations than Mud and M’farshim. But she soon realized that the test knew what I hadn’t yet discovered; there is hardly a more spiritual experience than working in nature. I began exploring first with my own family’s garden, and continued on a WWOOFing adventure across Israel. Now, I am more passionate than ever about food and healthy living! I hope that this blog will help us learn together how to live happier and healthier!

Leave a Reply

