Beans and Greens!

Standard
Beans and Greens!

Since high school, I have attended 3 higher level education institutions, and I have taken some really wonderful classes at all of them. But right now, my most favorite of all is Practical Botany. Before I begin to study for the quiz that I have tomorrow (which involves walking outside and identifying trees), I just wanted to show off a little of what I’ve been doing in class. If you remember, I posted a picture a little while back of my garden when it was just tiny seeds buried beneath the dirt, and maybe a few leaves.

And  now look at what it has become! 

The secret ingredient here is a mystery.  Though I can study, and even begin to understand how these tiny little monocots and eudycots transform themselves into big beautiful plants–how that first picture turned into this second picture in just a few weeks with nothing more than water, dirt, and a little sunlight–it mystifies me. In fact, I am even growing some plants in my house with JUST water. Now that is REALLY crazy!

Just something to think about as you continue on your day studying for tests or going to work, or identifying trees. As you reach for the bag of chips or packaged cookies for a momentary comfort, take a minute to think about where those came from and how they got there. Then take a couple minutes and read back over this blog. If you still choose the store-bought cookies over my lentil cookies, the microwavable curry over my delicious Palak Pa-not-r, American consumerism over the miracle of nature, then I’ll be surprised. But don’t worry, your secret’s safe with me!

About lizhahaklai

Hi! When I took an aptitude test in high school, the tests results said that she was destined to be a farmer or a rabbi. At first I was heartbroken over her prospected proletariat horizon, thinking that I had much greater aspirations than Mud and M’farshim. But she soon realized that the test knew what I hadn’t yet discovered; there is hardly a more spiritual experience than working in nature. I began exploring first with my own family’s garden, and continued on a WWOOFing adventure across Israel. Now, I am more passionate than ever about food and healthy living! I hope that this blog will help us learn together how to live happier and healthier!

One response »

  1. This is such a wonderful blog! I love all the wonderful cooking ideas that you have, and really enjoy your pictures! Keep up the blogging! I look forward to reading your post LizHaHaklai!!!

Leave a Reply

