TU B’Shvat Sameach!

Standard

It’s probably too early to already be diverting from the original intent of my blog, but since it’s Tu B’Shvat (Jewish Earth Day/New Years for the trees), I thought I’d share a little something.

Do you ever think about trees? I do. Sometimes, when I see a really big tree with a thick trunk and branches so high it hurts to look up at them because of the sun, I think about what that tree would have to say if it had eyes, or could talk. What would the ginkgo tree outside the Michigan Union be able to tell us about Kennedy’s declaration and creation of the Peace Corps? I bet that there are some  trees in Boston that would be able to tell us who really fired the shot heard ’round the world. Once you get past the fact that I actually know what kind of tree is  outside the Union, it’s a pretty interesting idea if you think it through. Too bad, as I learned today, trees are mostly dead cells!

Despite the fact that Wedneday’s are my busiest days, I look forward to riding the bus to the University of Michigan Matthaei Botanical Gardens as a part of my practical botany class (or, “tuition dollars in the dirt” as my mom likes to call it). I am growing everything from jalepenos and kohlrabi to spinach and sage, and I can’t wait until they are big enough to bring home and cook with (stay tuned)!  I also have some tulips and crocuses, but personally, I’m most excited for the red sunflowers to sprout up! Pictured below are 2 snapshots of my garden at school, and one above of a blossoming hyacinth at my ever-increasing indoor-garden (sorry, roommies!). The potted plants may not look like anything special now, but that’s because you didn’t see these tiny greens when they were only small seeds and bulbs buried beneath the dirt.

This Tu B’shvat, besides being excited about my garden and the fact that my Hebrew school students can read the words “tu b’shvat”, I am simply appreciating the chance to witness nature at it’s finest, to grow a garden, and also, meditating on what  what kinds of things trees  would say if they only gave them the chance.

About lizhahaklai

Hi! When I took an aptitude test in high school, the tests results said that she was destined to be a farmer or a rabbi. At first I was heartbroken over her prospected proletariat horizon, thinking that I had much greater aspirations than Mud and M’farshim. But she soon realized that the test knew what I hadn’t yet discovered; there is hardly a more spiritual experience than working in nature. I began exploring first with my own family’s garden, and continued on a WWOOFing adventure across Israel. Now, I am more passionate than ever about food and healthy living! I hope that this blog will help us learn together how to live happier and healthier!

Leave a Reply

