B.B.Brownies!

Image

Secret Ingredient: Black Beans and Chickpeas! 

Inspired by one of  Michael Pollan’s golden rules “eat as much junk as you want, as long as you make it yourself”, here goes my first blog post!

My mom sent me a recipe a short while back for black bean brownies, attached was a message “let me know how this goes”. Since I had offered to make lunch for some friends this weekend, I figured what better time to try!

I had planned on not telling anyone the secret ingredient until after they had taken the first bite, but my excitement was too much and told everyone about my version of special brownies.

The recipe I tried to follow was simple enough–3 eggs, some sugar, a can of black beans, and cocoa powder. Once I had already started mixing, I saw that we didn’t have any cocoa powder left. Too late to run to the store, or borrow from the neighbors, instead I substituted with some “nesquick” (you know for a nostalgic purposes)! I blended the ingredients together, and it turned out to look more like black bean chocolate milk than brownies. So I opened a can of chickpeas and blended some of those in as well. Then I threw them in the oven, and hoped for the best!

What resulted was surprisingly good! Fudge-y, chocolate-y, and not at all salad like. I’ll admit, they aren’t exactly “Duncan Hines”, but they are homemade and healthy! Maybe next time I’ll add in some chocolate chips (or carob chips!) for added chocolate flavor. And if you decide to try this at home, just remember beans get moldy even when they are deliciously disguised. So if you have any left, don’t leave these out on the counter!


Black Bean Brownies
1 can of black beans
handful of chickpeas
3 eggs
3/4 cup of sugar
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup Nesquick (or probably, cocoa powder!)
Optional additions: Chocolate chips, nuts, flax seeds, carob chips!

Blend together in a large bowl, and bake for 25 mins at 350.
Or feel free to improvise your own recipe-that’s what I did!

Leave a Reply

